“Dummy Boy” makes its way up on Billboard Top 200

Marian Osman, Staff Writer

Days before “Dummy Boy” was released Daniel Hernandez otherwise known as his stage name, Tekashi 6ix9ine was arrested November 19, 2018. He is a Brooklyn rapper and is known for his rap songs that have been on the R&B/hip-hop billboard charts. In one year, he had 10 of his rap songs on the billboards, which hasn’t been done by a new artist. His biggest single was FEFE featuring Nicki Minaj, which was charted third on the billboard charts.

Hernandez and five others that were his associates were arrested, because of racketeering and firearm charges. These people consisted of his former manager Kifano ‘Shottie” Jordan, bodyguard Faheem “Crippy” Walter, and associates Jensel “Ish” Butler, Fuguan “Fu Banga” Lovick, and Jamel “Mel Murda” Jones, which were all recently fired by Hernandez.

Hernandez is being held without bail and is being charged with six counts in an eight-count racketeering charge. Two of his counts are a maximum of life in prison. At the Manhattan courtroom lawyers said that two of his former associates were trying to kill him. A judge set his trial to September 4, 2019.

The day before he was arrested, the FBI and the police picked up Hernandez and said that they think that someone is trying to kill him and that he needs to come with them. Hernandez declined the offer of 24-hour protection and signed a waiver so that he could leave and go home.

The record company was supposed to originally release “Dummy Boy” on November 23, 2018 but was postponed because of 6ix9ine’s legal issues. “Dummy Boy” was leaked, but it is unknown how it was leaked.

Many say that it was leaked by Murda Beatz, who helped him make FEFE. On Instagram, Murda Beatz uploaded a picture of the album cover and on the caption was questioning if he should release it, since he had the album.

“Murda Beatz posted the “Dummy Boy” album cover on Instagram and was about to release it and he might’ve leaked it, but he deleted it afterwards,” sophomore Kristina Regmi said.

“Dummy Boy” was released on November 27, 2018 and has 13 songs on the album. The songs feature Bobby Shmurda, who is currently in jail, Nicki Minaj, Murda Beatz, Lil Baby, Tory Lanez, Kanye West, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Anuel AA, Gunna, DJ SpinKing, and Trife Drew.

6ix9ine’s album outsold Travis Scott’s “Astroworld.” Many listeners said that it wasn’t a surprise, because of all his previous songs that were on the billboard charts.

“Many of 6ix9ine’s songs have been on the billboard charts, so I was kind of expecting this to happen,” sophomore siryet Girma said.